13.3.1 Statutory co-governance arrangements


  1. Māori throughout Tāmaki Makaurau have made claims against the Crown under the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975. The Crown is in the process of negotiating settlements for the historical aspects of these claims.

  2. While claims are against the Crown, certain parts of the settlement redress may impose responsibilities on, or require action by, Auckland Council. Some Tiriti/Treaty settlements have included the establishment of co-governance structures as:

      • Ngāti Whātua Orākei Reserves Board
      • Te Poari o Kaipātiki ki Kaipara
      • Tūpuna Maunga o Tāmaki Makaurau Authority
  3. These partnership arrangements can enhance quality of life for all Aucklanders. They can include active mana whenua involvement in the co-governance of maunga (volcanic cones), wahapū (harbours), motu (islands) and kaitiakitanga (guardianship) of land and marine resources.

  4. The co-governance model represents a natural progression from the Tiriti/Treaty settlement era and a maturing of the relationship between the council and Māori.



Previous | Next